I am weird.
I am a girl.
Acting like a man.
Though, not this much, when you think about it.

That is just that I am studying computer science. I am hanging out mostly with men.
I make a lot of sex jokes. I don't wear miniskirts with low neckline. I don't wear any make up.

So often, men mistake me as a man. I am this well integrated with men. But what is weird is that some men, after noticing that I am a girl, come on to me!
This story takes place a year ago, in Grenoble.

At this time, I was dressed like... Err... Nothing. I mean, I was dressed like a guy. Ok, even worst than that: a geek guy. Baggy jeans, sneakers (male one), large T-shirt.
I was in a park, reading.
And when I am reading, anything could happen around me, I wouldn't care. Some may say that a nuclear bomb can explode just next to me, that I would still be reading.
But then, someone talked to me, even if I had my earphones, and that I was obviously deep into my book.
He asked me if I was a boy or a girl. Much more pissed off by the fact that I was disturbed in my reading rather than someone had doubts on my sex, I answered quickly, and resumed my reading.

The guy sat down next to me. I didn't notice it until he tried another human contact with me.
Then, I realized that this guy was completely drunk, and that he was also homeless, and probably an illegal immigrant. But then, I was too deep in my book to think of anything but saying two or three word, and figuring out how my favourite character would escape this time.
After a while, when I had satisfied my curiosity, I left. Especially because one of his friend arrived and said, "I don't want to bother you and your wife"... After a "I'm not his wife", I left, and resumed my reading in another park.

This was not the first time I was mistaken as a boy. I went to a reggae concert, to celebrate the end of the exams with some friends of mine.
The bouncer, a male, searched me, even if he wasn't allowed to do so. After touching my breast, he let me go, and said: "Good night, sir!" But then, I was once again dressed like a guy, with a very large sweater, the cap down on my eyes.

Another time, I really didn't understand why I was taken for a man.
I was normally dressed. I mean, a proper Tshirt, a proper trouser... Like a normal girl, then!
The guy had seen me before (he was a waiter at the college canteen), and almost every day that very week, and they didn't have much customers as it was summer break.
"Anything else, young man?"

I think I was already used to that.
I didn't react.
But when I told that to my friends, the one who was with me at this time said: "Oh, I heard well, then. As you didn't react, I though he said something else."

But then, that's only males. I had never been mistaken as a man by a woman.
Until...

Until a straight woman hit on me.
Let me explain that.

 I was going to the Church. So I got dressed: jeans, black shirt, black sneakers, black hat. I went there with some friends, and had a good time, listening to the music, joking with each other...
Oh, here I probably should explain that the Church is a famous restaurant/pub/nightclub in Dublin. The restaurant in on the first floor, the pub on the ground floor, the nightclub in the basement.
So after a pint in the pub, we went downstair to the nightclub. 'We' meant the five of us: we were two girls (including me) and three men. The other girl went to toilets, and the rest of us went to the dance floor.

There, I had a very intense eye contact with a girl. She smiled at me, then, and had this common gesture that means "come here, you".

I looked back for one of the guys, who winked at me with a bright smile, saying "You're in there!". But when I looked down for the girl again, she saw her mistake, and was ashamed enough to avoid me the rest of the night.
Or maybe I just don't have a memory for face, and couldn't recognize her any longer.

Here, if you don't wear a miniskirt with a low neckline, nobody will flirt with you. Which is not that bad.
When you wear a shirt with jeans, they will stare at you, if they think you are a girl.
Otherwise, maybe a girl will hit on you.

Even if, like me, you are a girl, and she is straight, like her.
Retour à l'accueil