So it began on a nice friday evening at Isaac Hostel, as you may have guessed (ou pas, d'ailleurs). So I was just sitting there, half asleep as usual, trying not to get lost in a conversation (in english) between Marion (a french girl which I met a few hours earlier) and an italian girl (which I can't recall the name of). The italian girl was saying that the cliffs of Moher were pretty interesting, and that she had a bus tour there. After a lot of  'You should go there, it's lovely' and tutti quanti, Marion decided to go, and, turning her head toward me, asked me ingenuously if I wanted to go with her. And foolishly, I accepted. After all, it can't be as expensive as two other nights in pubs!

And sometimes, foolish is good. So there I was, up at 7:30 in the saturday morning (how unusal for me), and I had just enough time to get a shower, dress myself and have a breackfast (very fast) before leaving to Galway, by bus. And 3 hours and 30 minutes later, we were booking a youth hostel near the bus station. Our next move was to explore the town. After a walk in the city center, were we saw a nice street market, we walked on the Atlantic coast. My god, I haven't smelled sea for more than a year! And as we were walking, Marion felt like a cigarette, but as she had no lighter, she asked a guy who was just sitting there, watching the ocean. And that's how we met Jamie.

Hence, we spent most of the day with him, exploring the town (including campus and supermarket), until we were too hungry that all we wanted to do was to get back to the hostel to feed ourself. So after a quick meal, we went out again, to find out that in Galway too there was girls bachelor parties, hence short skirt. There are also a lot of buskers, armed with drums... And that was really cool. And, as usual in this country, we finished the evening in a very nice pub.

(green stuff are drums, if you wondered ;-) )


On sunday, we (Marion and I, Jamie had seen the cliffs the day before) had our little bus tour (from 10am to 5pm), and we saw the cliffs of Moher and the Burren.
The cliffs are very impressive (214 meters high), and if you look at the pictures, the tiny little colored spots are people. Yes, they are.


After catching our breath again, we came back to the bus, and then moved on to the Burren, sort of grass growing between fields of stones, or dolmen. As breath-taking as the cliffs. I mean, you don't see every day grey hills, do you?
Exept for the irish people who live there, of course.
And as we came back to Galway, we were just in time to catch our bus back to Dublin.
What a week end!
Retour à l'accueil