It snowed.
Here.
In Dublin.
For the first time in ages.
It was like two or three weeks ago (sorry, I'm late to comment this event).

It was real snow, like the one I'm used to in the Alps.
Except that there weren't any mountains to ski on.


But still, I had my bike... And then, I used it to go to college to see a movie an evening...
So it was snowning, dark, with a lot of (drunk) taxi drivers on the way.
Yeah, here, taxi drivers are drunk. I wasn't able to find another explaination to the question: "Why do taxi drivers drive so dangerously?"

So I was driving on the snow, and as I was in town, at some moment, I had to stop.
So I slamed on the brakes... And nothing happened.
Almost nothing, though.

I did stop wheeling. But I started to slip at the very same speed.
I reassure you, I managed to stop in time. But the rest of this trip was just like that: to manage to keep control of my bike, half wheeling, half slipping, under the snow, againt the wind, to finally get to the city center safe.
I managed.
And, I must admit that I got a kick out of this.


Even if when I arrived, I was soaked to the skin, in spite of my rain clothes.
I knew that I should have brought my skiing stuff with me.

Although, nothing lasts forever.
And I don't say anymore "fondre comme neige au soleil", but "fondre comme neige à Dublin".
Retour à l'accueil