Just before I left to France (only two short weeks, during which I intend to get up at 2pm every afternoon... Old habits last long.), we wanted to go to the beach with Yann, Patrick, Damien and Julien (don't ask me how I came up to hang out with this much boys, I don't know!). Hence, we took the DART to Howth (North of Dublin). Once there, we tried to go on the left side to find a beach. No little voices told us "try again", so we went on, and found out a nice fishers' port. We were walking along the docks, watching the sea, when suddenly...

I took a breathe before checking what I saw, and then, I told my friends: 'Eh, regardez, des phoques !'* (Yes, they are french people. And yes again, I think that France has invaded Ireland, not England. It has been a scapegoat for centeries, now.)
So we stayed there, for at least 20 minutes. Men were saying things like: 'Oh, look at them, they're so cute!'. Who said that there were differences between men and women? Ok, they weren't saying that (otherwise, I would be quoting them in french), but it was more like that: 'Eh, regardez, y'en a un autre là !
-Et là aussi !
-La vache, c'est gros !
-Mais ils sont combien en tout ?
-Ils sont 7 !
-Viens par là, petit petit petit !'** Males are all the same. Still trying to prove that they have more guts than the others. Sometimes, they forget their brain in the way... So Yann finished at the end of a ladder, to try to touch the seals...


Then, we went to the other side of the dock, where they were fishermen (using fishing rod), fishing.
And there, Yann met the most important living being of the day. A crab. After an unforgettable dicussion, he threw it back to the sea. And this was an end to a nice story... After that great emotionnal moment, we left the fishermen.

And then we met Lena and one of her friends (can't recall her name...), and Yann tried to explain her that we saw seals. I must say that in french, phoque (the translation for seal) is pronounced /fɔk/. So the discussion was very funny... And Yann became the 'phoqueman'. Spiderman, beware!
At last, we discovered that it was Lena's birthday, so we came home (that is to say, back to the hostel) to celebrate.


*'Eh, watch out, seals!'

**'Eh, look, there is one more there!
- and there also!
-Man, it's big! --men speaking
-But how many are they?
-They are 7!
-Come on, seally seally seally!' --Que celui ou celle qui me trouve une meilleure traduction me la propose de suite!
Retour à l'accueil