And indeed, everyone is welcome in Dublin.

I mean, if you walk in the city, you will pass by a polish shop. You have to. Polish people are just the first foreign community in Dublin.
I can prove it. At least, when I will have access to some scanner, I will post some polish adds that you can find in irish newspaper.
Yet, I haven't met any polish people... This is not a big studying community.

The second community is french. When you're studying in TCD, and when you're french, you're just stunned by how many students are french. I mean, we're about 10 just studying computer science in both M1 and M2 (classes in junior and senior sophister, here in TCD, and some of french students are doing post grad lessons, too...) And I met like 5 french studying laws, a belgium girl studying french and english litterature, and so on. So I won't lose my french, which is good. But maybe I won't improve my english either, which is bad... OK, maybe I'm just being pessimistic (as usual). And as I said earlier, it is impossible to wander in town (or even in the county) without hearing french. As I'm part of it, and I'm already telling you much about my life here, I will pass on german people.

If you put apart french, german community is the biggest foreign community here in TCD. If you're just listening to people in the campus, you will often hear german.
That may be why we have an Oktoberfest here in Dublin. Yes.
When I think that I contemplate to go to study in Dresden... Don't go to Oktoberfest, it will come to you.
So, hanging around with some french friends (yes, again), it came out of the conversation that next to Caroline's home, a kind of Oktoberfest takes place...
So this evening, we went there, with Patrick (french) and Eric (an irish guy who I'd just met in class). And according to Eric (who has already done some Oktoberfests), it is very alike, exept that it is much more little. And that there were much less drunk people.

However, tonight is a monday night, and I have classes tomorrow morning, so I came home quite early.
I promess, I'll go there on friday or saturday, at least to take some pictures. And Eric wanted to take there some friends of his.
So we'll check this again, I think.

Still... Ireland is the land of beer.

PS: I didn't find any Guiness there, just german beer...
Retour à l'accueil