Studying computer science in TCD appears much more difficult than in UJF.

Not that the lectures are harder than in Grenoble. Nor have we more work, or more hours. Quite the contrary... Same amount of work for like half of hours of actual lectures, or tutorials.

So I catch up with what I said earlier: I wanted to do some classes, and it appears afterwards that it stands for 70 ECTS, ie 10 ECTS more that what I actually needed. So what? Qui peut le plus, peut le moins, as we say in France. But here teachers are just unaware of how smart I am. (I am also modest, but I'll leave that unsaid.) That may explain their doubtful face when I come out with "I want to do that lecture! And this one too! And no broad subjects!" or "I would like to do an internship in your lab, in addition to my usual courses."

So different from Grenoble, where teachers know me quite well... "Hey, are you interested in this subject?" "I need some persons to give tutorial, nothing big... Are you in?" "Finally, this subject sucks, we're over that... This one, although..." "Hey, do you have much work in Dublin? 'Cause it would be great if you find there an internship!" and so on.

But here... Answer to a student asking for internship is: "We don't have any intern student... I know that some french student, however, get some internship in business enterprise.
- I need an internship connected to research.
- Oo. Well... So what about this project? You worked on E-vote before, right?"

And I won't speak about the administration stuff. Except that not having access to a computer  lab is slightly annoying to work... I mean, we (erasmus students) can't access the lab classes! How are we supposed to do then? And I actually ran all wednesday to print a fucking learning agrement. Really, all the day. Next time, I will go to a cyber café. And then, on thursday, I went to my coordinator's office (to get his signature), and as surprising as it appears, here, professors are actually most of their time in their office. Once again, how different from France. Then, I went to the international office (again for a signature... I'm wondering about getting digital signatures on pdf documents... RSA power!), and there I was told that the person in charge wasn't here, and that I should try again on friday (ie, today). Well, when I asked again, she told me to come back on monday, because she was in a meeting...

Fuck. In France, to get a shet of paper, I was used to go through three offices a day, but at least, I had my paper in the day...
Retour à l'accueil